Lent term opening times

We’re back to term time opening from Monday 16th January: Weekdays  8:50 – 7pm Weekends  11am – 6pm (Last admission is 20 minutes before the library closes).

Continue Reading

collaborations and inspirations

  Curated by Senior Library Assistant Geoff Shipp. You can find more information about the artists and writers in the display here: Tom Phillips http://www.tomphillips.co.uk/ David Hockney http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/david-hockney-1293 Fay Godwin http://www.faygodwin.com/ Sidney Nolan http://www.sidneynolantrust.org/about/sidney-nolan Sylvia Plath https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/sylvia-plath Graham Rawle http://www.grahamrawle.com/ Wallace Stevens https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poets/detail/wallace-stevens Blake Morrison http://blakemorrison.net/ Paula Rego http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/paula-rego-1823

Continue Reading

Vacation opening hours 🎄🎄🎄

Monday-Friday, 5th-9th: 9.30am-6pm Saturday & Sunday 10th-11th: closed Monday-Thursday, 12th-15th: 9.30am-6pm Friday 16th: 9.30am-12pm Saturday & Sunday 17th-18th: closed Monday-Wednesday 19th-21st: 9.30am-5pm Closed from 22nd Dec to 2nd Jan inclusive Tuesday-Friday 3rd-6th Jan: 9:30am-5pm Saturday & Sunday 7th-8th Jan: Closed

Continue Reading

Vacation borrowing starts today!

Books borrowed or renewed after today are due back on the 19th of January. Vacation loans are also unlimited for English & ASNC students. Make the books happy this Christmas. Take them home. #barrythebook

Continue Reading

Postgrad workshops

  Preparing your MPhil assigments for submission: style, format, referencing An introduction to the wonders of MHRA (Modern Humanities Research Association) – we’ll give you a serious head start on formatting your work, referencing, layout, and everything else you’ll need to prepare your MPhil work for submission. Spaces still left on Monday, November 21, 3:00pm […]

Continue Reading

Missed the UL tours?

We’ve got a bonus UL tour Tuesday 8th November for anyone who missed out at the start of the term. We’ll cover how to get in and work the lockers, where the English books are, where the Tea Room is. All the good stuff, with friendly EFL staff as your guide. Book now

Continue Reading

Zotero Workshops

We’ve got Zotero workshops this week, 4pm Thursday and 2pm Friday, covering everything you’ve ever needed to know about Zotero which, after cake, is the library’s favourite thing EVER. Bring your laptops, bring your questions, we’re here to help.

Continue Reading

How to Find Better Stuff to Read and Stop Procrastinating

So you’ve handed the first few essays in and you’re getting used to the Cambridge routine… still feel like you could do with some help on streamlining the essay process and making the most of your time? Sign up for: How to find better stuff to read and stop procrastinating – EFL first-year workshops. From […]

Continue Reading

EFL tours of the UL

Tours of the UL, led by EFL staff for English students, are running this week and next. The UL can be a little daunting at first but learning how to use it early on in your Cambridge career can be really valuable. If you’d like the opportunity to be shown how to use the lockers, […]

Continue Reading